Helpful agents are standing by: (317) 333-7458
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Penalties and Charges to Be Aware of When Getting Car Insurance in Indianapolis

Indiana takes strict approach against drivers without insurance policies. An uninsured driver can get his license suspended for 90 days and be extended for a year due to subsequent violations. Depending if it is first or second offense, charges could sum up from $150 to $300 as reinstatement fees. Proof of coverage and immediate filing of report must be done once there is an accident; otherwise, the license is automatically subjected for suspension.

It is essential for car drivers and owners to own car insurance in Indianapolis before driving its road. This insurance records a driver’s financial history or credit rating. Coverage of at least $25000 should be allotted for one person’s death and $50000 for the death of two people. For property damage, a minimum coverage of $10000 is a must. This may come as a great help for a car owner plus there is also a facility to go for additional coverage once the state’s fixed amount is not sufficient to protect his interests in case of fatal accidents.

After the suspension of the license, a reinstatement can be made only after paying the fee depending on how many times the offense was done. Basic requirements for the process are the agent’s signature with the current proof of the insurance. Proof of insurance is needed if one has to appear in the court for breaking traffic rules or getting into road accidents in Indianapolis. If there are not many resources available before the court hearing, then the BMV or the Bureau of Motor Vehicles will post out a compliance certificate. The signed certificate must be returned to the BMV or else a license suspension must be faced. Any kind of alteration in the address must be notified too.

Insurance proof is also needed for accidents with property. It is the driver’s duty to report any kind of damage more than $1000 within ten days to the Bureau. In case of hitting a car without an owner, one should immediately file a report with the sufficient personal contact details within twenty four hours. Once these measures are not fulfilled, it would also end up to license suspension and fine charges.

If a person involved leaves the accident area without any notice, it could mean that the offender has a habit of repeating such crimes and running away without leaving any information. They are called habitual offender. A driver who has made a number of traffic violations in Indianapolis and been involved with accidents will be asked to take driving and traffic education classes through BMV’s special division that deals with the safety and of driver’s responsibility.

If you want to know what quote for your car insurance in Indianapolis that will meet all your requirements, do enter your ZIP code.